Главная страница

May 18: 30: Opening statements/welcome, Block C3, Room 1010 Panel 1


Скачать 70.33 Kb.
НазваниеMay 18: 30: Opening statements/welcome, Block C3, Room 1010 Panel 1
Дата21.05.2019
Размер70.33 Kb.
ТипДокументы

Preliminary Conference Program

Eurasian Migration, Past & Present – Living Cross-Cultural Lives

18-19 May, 2017

Nazarbayev University

Block C3, Room 1010
May 18:

9.30: Opening statements/welcome, Block C3, Room 1010
Panel 1

10.00-12.00: Living and Working in Places of Settlement

Chair: Zohra Ismail Beben (zohra.beben@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Discussant: Caress Schenk (cschenk@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Papers:

Michaela Pohl (mipohl@vassar.edu), Vassar College (US)

In the Streets of the Virgin Lands [На улицах целины]

Madeleine Reeves (madeleinereeves@gmail.com), University of Manchester (UK)

Out of Synch? Labor, Time, and Deportability in Moscow’s Migrant Economy [Вне соответствия? Труд, время и депортация в экономике мигрантов в Москве]

Rano Turaeva (r.turaeva@gmail.com), Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology (Germany)

Divided Spaces around Mosques in Russia: Inside vs. Outside [Разделенные пространства вокруг мечетей в России: внутри и снаружи]

Sergey Ryazantsev (riazan@mail.ru), Institute of Socio-Political Research, Russian Academy of Science (Russia)

Migrants from East and Southeast Asia on the Russian labor market [Мигранты из Восточной и Юго-Восточной Азии на российском рынке труда]

12.00-13.30: Lunch break
Panel 2

13.30-15.15: Living Betwixt and Between

Chair: Gwen McEvoy (gmcevoy@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Discussant: Alima Bissenova (abissenova@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Papers:

Elena Borisova (elena.borisova-2@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk), University of Manchester (UK)

Being Immobile at a Time of Mass Migration: Labour Migrants with Re-entry Bans in Northern Tajikistan [Быть немобильным во время массовой миграции: трудовые мигранты с запретами на въезд в Северный Таджикистан]

Igor Savin (savigsa@inbox.ru), South-Kazakhstan State University and Institute of Oriental Studies, Russian Academy of Sciences

Main tendencies of return migration from Central Asia to Kazakhstan (in Russian) [Основные тенденции возвратной миграции из Центральной Азии в Казахстан]

Irina Kuznetsova (i.kuznetsova@bham.ac.uk), University of Birmingham (UK)

Refugees from Eastern Ukraine in Russia: Experiences, Policies and Discourse in the Context of Forced Migration from the Ukraine Conflict [Беженцы из Восточной Украины в России: опыт, политика и дискурс в контексте вынужденной миграции из украинского конфликта]
15.15-15.45: Coffee break
Panel 3

15:45-17:30: The Impact and Legacies of ‘Hard’ Borders in the USSR

Chair: Kris Rees (kmrees@indiana.edu), Indiana University East

Discussant: Alexander Morrison (alexander.morrison@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Papers:

Jeff Sahadeo (jeff_sahadeo@carleton.ca), Carleton University (Canada)

Our House is/was the Soviet Union: Migration, Internal Borders and Identity in the Late USSR [Наш домэто/был Советский Союз: миграция, внутренние границы и самобытность в позднем СССР]

Alima Bissenova (abissenova@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Songy Kosh” (Last Migration) – Mass Sino-Soviet Migration of Kazakhs from 1955 to 1962 Сонгы Кош» (последняя миграция) - массовая китайско-советская миграция казахов с 1955 по 1962 год]

Jeremy Smith (jeremy.smith@uef.fi), University of Eastern Finland

Stranded Migrants: the Break-up of the USSR and the Impact of New International Borders on National Minorities [Застрявшие мигранты: распад СССР и влияние новых международных границ на национальные меньшинства]
May 19
Panel 4

9.00-10.45: Navigating home: Migrants and Sending Countries

Chair: Aziz Burkhanov (aziz.burkhanov@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Discussant: Madeleine Reeves (madeleinereeves@gmail.com), University of Manchester (UK)

Papers:

Ted Gerber (tgerber@ssc.wisc.edu), University of Wisconsin-Madison (US)

Labor Migrant Experiences in Russia: Views from Back Home [Трудовые мигранты в России: взгляд из дома]

Helene Thibault (helene.thibault@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Labour Migration and Polygyny: Bargaining Patriarchy in Tajikistan [Трудовая миграция и полигиния: патриотический процесс в Таджикистане]

Malika Tukmadieva (m.tukmadiyeva@gmail.com), Independent Scholar (Kazakhstan)

Building Walls, Burning Bridges: State Perceptions of Emigration in Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan [Возводя стены, сжигая мосты: восприятие государством эмиграции в Казахстане и Кыргызстане]
10.45-11.15: Coffee Break
Panel 5

11.15-13.00: Migrants and the Host State

Chair: Maja Savevska (maja.savevska@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Discussant: Ted Gerber (tgerber@ssc.wisc.edu), University of Wisconsin-Madison (US)

Papers:

Emil Nasretdinov (emilzn@gmail.com), The American University of Central Asia (Kyrgyzstan)

The Effect of Kyrgyzstan's Accession to EEU on the Life of Kyrgyz Migrants in the Russian Federation [Влияние вступления Кыргызстана в ЕЭС на жизнь кыргызских мигрантов в Российской Федерации]

Irina Chernikh (chernykhi@yahoo.com), Kazakhstan Institute for Strategic Studies

Ethnic Immigration in Kazakhstan: Regional Specificities, Dynamic, Model of Adaptation [Этническая иммиграция в Казахстане: региональные особенности, динамика, модель адаптации]

Caress Schenk (caress.schenk@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Does Corruption Increase Opportunities for Migrants in Eurasia? [Увеличивает ли коррупция возможности мигрантов в Евразии?]
13.00-14.00: Lunch break
Panel 6

14.00-15.45: Migrants and the Host Society

Chair: Caress Schenk (cschenk@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Discussant: Jeff Sahadeo (jeff_sahadeo@carleton.ca), Carleton University (Canada)

Papers:

Alexander Morrison (alexander.morrison@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

On Dunganskaya Street. Colonial Vernyi as a “Plural Society” [На Дунганской улице. Колониальный Верный как «множественное общество»]

Elena Sadovskaya (esa2004@mail.ru), Center for Conflict Management (Kazakhstan)

Rise of Anti-Chinese Sentiments in Kazakhstan in the Context of Land Lease to China in 2016: Background, Dynamics and Prospects [Повышение антикитайских настроений в Казахстане в контексте сдачи земли в аренду Китаю в 2016 году: предыстория, динамика и перспективы]

Natalya Kosmarskaya (kosmarskis@gmail.com), Institute of Oriental Studies, Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia)

Exploring Regional Specifics of Everyday Xenophobia in Russia: Case-Study of Moscow and Krasnodar [Изучение региональных особенностей повседневной ксенофобии в России: тематический анализ Москвы и Краснодара]
15.45-16.00: Coffee Break
Panel 7

16.00-17.45: Crossing Borders: the Logistics of Mobility in a World of Changing Borders

Chair: Helene Thibault (helene.thibault@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Discussant: John Schoeberlein (john.schoeberlein@nu.edu.kz), Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan)

Papers:

Olga Tkach (tkach@cisr.ru), Centre for Independent Social Research, St. Petersburg (Russia)

The Unbearable Lightness of the Finnish Schengen: Visa Strategies of Russian Visitors to Finland [Невыносимая легкость финского шенгена: визовые стратегии российских гостей в Финляндии]

Natalya Zotova (zotova.1@osu.edu), The Ohio State University (US)

Mom, It’s a Club Car!” Transnational Lives and the Meaning of Travel Ban for Tajikistan’s Migrants [«Мама, это клубный автомобиль!» Транснациональные жизни и смысл запрета на поездки для мигрантов из Таджикистана]

Sergei Abashin (s-abashin@mail.ru), European University of St Petersburg (Russia)

Crisis, circular migration, and returning home: migrants between Russia and Central Asia (in Russian) [Кризис, циркулярные миграции и возвращение домой: мигранты между Россией и Средней Азией]